01/02: George Nakashima: Woodworker

On occasion I will write about locations and attractions in the Philadelphia area as I attempt to organize field trips out to places like George Nakashima‘s workshop up in New Hope PA. I have been recommended by many people to visit his workshop and I find both his furniture and philosophy to be compelling. I am a big fan of many examples of fine or quirky furniture, including the Ines Table by one of my favorite architects Enric Miralles (more on both him and his table at a later date).  Nakashima’s work seems to focus on the qualities and beauties to be found in a peace of wood, in addition to maintaining respect for the source material (i.e. tree) and properly expressing the craft and means of construction behind any given piece. While some of his work seems to rest heavily on the beauty of the wood used there is much to commend a design which lets that beauty shine to its fullest potential.

Nakashima Butterfly Gate Nakashima Conoid Desk Nakashima Enzo Mirrors

With any luck there will be a small caravan from PennDesign heading to Nakashima’s workshop sometime in the next two months, and anyone in the Philadelphia area is welcome to contact me and join in.

Author’s note- as I get this blog in working order I hope it invites questions and dialogue but for now I’ll just be figuring what all these buttons do. As you can see I used up all my hyperlink privileges on day two.

Leave a Reply

